Conquering Hills For Glory And Vanity

Mantras are usually associated with meditation as a way to achieve an elevated state of consciousness.  I use mantras to help me achieve an elevated state of motivation when I am forced to do something in sports that hurts or that I hate. 

I have several selections of mantras, most of which cannot be printed in a civilized blog…Here’s a hint though.

If you were playing Wheel of Fortune, you would guess as the first letters of these mantras: “F” “S” “D” and “H.” 

Some people love to run the hills, charging up them like conquering heroes only to look down on the pitiful rest of us, struggling with legs and lungs on fire. 

Let it be known, here and now, that I HATE running up hills.  Struggling up those long, steep inclines, huffing and puffing, is just wrong.   

But there is a mantra that’s helpful on hills.  Say it over and over, and while you may not reach that desired state of consciousness or even motivation, it will carry you to the top. 

Whether the actual statement is true or not, we can only hope that something good would come out of such torture. 

Running Up Hills Makes Your Butt Look CuteRunning Up Hills Makes Your Butt Look CuteRunning Up Hills Makes Your Butt Look Cute”

 Has the mantra worked for me? 

I can say that it has taken me up some tough hills, but if it is a true statement or merely wishful thinking on my part, you’d have to ask the folks from my local Laundromat (see May 5th blog below). everest_north_face_4002.jpg

Even little bumps in the road might as well be Mt. Everest

Leave a Reply

