Make a Boo Boo on a Cake? Just Eat It!

Okay so this is how I imagine the conversation went:

Walmart Employee: ‘Hello. This’ Walmarts, how can I help you?’
Customer: ‘ I would like to order a cake for a going away party this week.’
Walmart Employee: ‘What you want on the cake?’
Customer: ‘Best Wishes Suzanne’ and underneath that ‘We will miss you’.
 best-wishes-suzanne-cake.jpg

Hilarious AND true – this actually happened. Hard to get good help anymore!   

So I ordered a birthday cake for my friend Libby.  Just called up the Harris Teeter grocery store and asked for a basic sheet cake with flowers and the words: “Happy Birthday Libby.” 

When I got to the store to pick it up, I was interrogated with no mercy. 

Me:  “My name is Teri Saylor and I would like to pick up a birthday cake.” 

Cake Clerk:  “What does the cake look like?”  Me:  “It has white icing and it says Happy Birthday Libby.” 

Cake Clerk:  “What else is on the cake? 

Me:  “I don’t know…flowers, I guess, and it says “Happy Birthday Libby.” 

Cake Clerk:  “What color are the flowers?” 

Me:  “I don’t know.  The cake is a birthday cake and it says “Happy Birthday Libby.” 

Cake Clerk:  “What color are the letters?” 

Me:  (Getting very frustrated now).  “I don’t know.  All I know is my name is Teri Saylor and I ordered a cake that says Happy Birthday Libby.” 

Cake Clerk:  How do I know you are who you say you are? 

Me: “Because I ordered a cake that says Happy Birthday Libby, and if you have a cake back there that says Happy Birthday Libby, it’s mine!” 

Cake Clerk: “Yeah I got your cake.  It’s just that you sounded taller on the phone.”

3 thoughts on “Make a Boo Boo on a Cake? Just Eat It!

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Jason Rakowski

  2. I’m just worried that they charged by the word, like they do for classified ads. That could be a costly cake, unless their math skills were as poor as their ability to understand instructions.

Leave a Reply

