Never Can Say Goodbye – to Michael and Farrah

I have some confessions to make about Michael Jackson and Farrah Fawcett.  The wall-to-wall tributes to these two pop culture icons have conjured up some fun memories.   There’s no escape from the countless montages of photos chronicling Michael Jackson’s transformation from an adorable little boy into the strangely eccentric King of Pop, including a Michael Jackson video orgy on VH1 all day today.  Add these to the clips from “Charlie’s Angels” and photos of gorgeous Farrah Fawcett, who even managed to look beautiful throughout most of the self-made film that documented her struggle with the cancer that would kill her after all.

And that poster.  I thought I had seen the last of that thing after I graduated from college (more about that later).

The general public is strangely sad that Michael and Farrah died.  Most of the world never met either one of them.  We never saw Michael sing in person, and probably never would have.  Neither had produced anything new in years, and they only resurfaced from time to time in tawdry tabloids.

But they were always  there. Woven into the fabric of my own existence through my childhood, teen years and adulthood.    Now they are gone, and in a way, I feel like a piece of my life has gone with them. In mourning the passing of Michael Jackson and Farrah Fawcett, I mourn the passing of a little bit of me as well.

The beat goes on.

In memory and tribute to Michael Jackson and Farrah Fawcett, I list some confessions that I have never admitted to anyone, at least in a long long time.

THE POSTER: Back in college, some boys in my dorm had THE POSTER of Farrah Fawcett pinned up in their room.  We girls used to threaten to go in their suite and draw braces on her teeth, and we got a lot of evil, wicked laughs about actually doing it.  We never had the guts to go through with it though.  It would have become the eighth deadly sin.

Farrah Poster

CHARLIE’S ANGELS: For awhile, that was my favorite show.  I loved it.  I wanted to be one of the Angels.

FARRAH’S HAIR ETC: I neither wanted nor had that Farrah Do.  Too big and blonde.  But I did get a swimsuit like hers, black though instead of red.  ‘Nuff said about that.

MOONWALK: I am sure that I am not the only one who has ever tried to moonwalk on a dance floor, both failing miserably and making a fool of myself.  I tried again today when I saw the Gloved One perform it on TV, but I almost fell over Bart the cat while he was sleeping and nearly scared him out of his wits.

THE JACKSON FIVE: I have long held onto an old CD called “The Ultimate Jackson Five,” and a commercial CD called “The Love Songs of Michael Jackson” and I have been blasting them out of my car stereo for days now.  “Never Can Say Goodbye.”

BUBBLES THE CHIMP: I admit it.  I got to wondering what ever happened to Bubbles, so I Googled him.  He’s got a pretty good Internet presence for a chimpanzee.  So here’s the scoop. Bubbles is known as Michael Jackson’s first “child.”  Michael adopted Bubbles from a cancer research center and raised him like a son.  Despite rumors over the years that Bubbles committed suicide, the chimp actually grew up, became aggressive, and had to go live at an animal sanctuary.  Michael Jackson may have been weird, but to his credit, he did right by Bubbles and saved him the same fate as another famous “chimp son” – the unforgettable Travis.

bubbles

A FAVORITE MICHAEL JACKSON SONG: I LOVE the “We are the World” and the video, co-written by Lionel Ritchie and Michael Jackson-produced by Quincy Jones.  I had not thought of it in a long time until today, when I saw it twice on VH1 and then watched it three more times on You Tube.  It came out in 1985.  I bought the record and listened to it so many times I learned all the words and practiced singing it in the voices of the featured performers:

SOLOS: Lionel Ritchie; Stevie Wonder; Paul Simon; Kenny Rogers; James Ingram; Tina Turner; Billy Joel; Michael Jackson; Diana Ross; Dionne Warwick; Willie Nelson; Al Jarreau; Bruce Springsteen; Kenny Loggins; Steve Perry; Darryl Hall; Huey Lewis; Cyndi Lauper; Kim Carnes; Bob Dylan; Ray Charles; Stevie Wonder

EXTRAS: Dan Akroyd; Harry Belafonte; Lindsey Buckingham; The News; Sheila E.; Bob Geldoff; Jackie Jackson; LaToya Jackson; Marlon Jackson; Randy Jackson; Tito Jackson; Waylon Jennings; Bette Midler; John Oates; Jeffrey Osborne; The Pointer Sisters; Smokey Robinson

(Click the link below the picture to see a clip)

We are the world picture

We Are The World

There comes a time when we heed a certain call

When the world must come together as one

There are people dying

And it’s time to lend a hand to life

The greatest gift of all

We can’t go on pretending day by day

That someone, somewhere will soon make a change

We are all part of God’s great big family

And the truth you know love is all we need

We are the world, we are the children

We are the ones who make a brighter day so let’s start giving

There’s a choice we’re making

We’re saving our own lives

It’s true, we’ll make a better day, just you and me

Leave a Reply

